An Introduction to Springville
During the 1860's settlers, lumbermen and cattle ranchers began moving into the area. Citrus and apples were introduced. A wagon road was established from Porterville up into the foothills. The Crabtree family obtained a land patent for 160 acres which encompasses most of downtown Springville. The town was named after a soda spring located on the banks of the Tule River - it still flows today. Eventually a restaurant was built on the site, the Soda Spring Inn. It flourished until the devastation of the 1966 flood.
Springville and the surrounding area has much to offer - a rich history, wonderful recreation opportunities and a town full of interesting, friendly people.